Backstory

The village of Plissa is located on the territory of the former Grand Duchy of Lithuania, today it’s the territory of the Republic of Belarus, Vitebsk region, Glubokoye district. In Belarus, other villages, lakes and rivers also bear this name. Local historians say that the “Plissa” toponym is derived from the term “ples”, which stands for a quiet, overgrown place in a pond with a calm current. The ancient town of Plissa was founded on the shore of the like-named lake that is 6 km long and 1.5 km wide. Mnuta river outflows from this lake and joins the Disna. And local countryside amazes visitors with it’s indescribable beauty both in winter and in summer. Near the lake there is a castle hill that has a legend to it: once upon a time there stood a castle that belonged to a duke who had two daughters - Mnuta and Lyutitsa. And not far from the castle there lived a fisherman who fell in love with Mnuta The duke found out about this and turned against their love. Then, after a while, the fisherman vanished. And next Mnuta went missing, too. Lyutitsa wandered off in search of her sister and also disappeared never to be seen again. Since then, they say that the river Mnuta flowing out of Lake Plissa and the river Lyutitsa that is flowing into the lake are the two lost sisters who can never meet, because one sister always comes into the lake and the other comes out of it. The area is filled with ancient and historically prominent places. The village stands on the way from Vilnius to Polotsk, a road that used to be called the Great Trade Route or the Algerdov way. Back in the days there were stone crosses along the entire length of this road, one of them still stands in the center of the village. Our ancestors installed these structures at the points of trade routes crossing, near major cities and in places where milestone historical events took place. People believed that they protected the neighborhood from scoundrels, epidemics and diseases. This cross was previously directly on the Algerdov way, up on the hill, but in Soviet times it was cast down from there, and after that the locals placed it within the limits of the village.

People choose good places to live like bees choose flowers to pollinate. And since the old days, Polotskian Krivichi settled in the Plissa lake area and near the Mnuta River. During the excavations, Belarusian archaeologists discovered many ancient burial mounds here that allowed them to assume that people had settled here almost 3000 years ago.
Since the beginning of the XVI century, the village became the property of Konstanty Ostrogski, who sold it to a nobleman by the name of Nikolai Petukh, the deal was fixed by a charter signed by Zygmunt I on July 7, 1507. This date is considered to be the day of the settlement’s foundation. The Royal Charter gave Nikolai Petukh and his descendants the eternal right to use both Plissa and the surrounding territories. In 1552 there were 63 houses in Plissa, which by those times standards was quite a lot. In 1579, Pakholovitsky, the royal cartographer, received a Royal Command to draw up a map of the Polotsk province. He arrived in Plissa, plotting it on the map as a large settlement.
In 1602, Plissa became the property of Jozef Ivanovich Korsak, who was a very pious ruler. This marks the golden age of the Christianity in the area. And local folklore received a new amusing legend, according to which some local monks caught a beaver in the lake during the Lent and couldn’t decide whether it was possible to use it’s meat for food or not, because it was both a water and an earthly inhabitant.
In the XVIII century Plissa was passed into possession of the family of Polish gentlemen who went by the name Podbipent. The rapid development of the land and the location of the village on the major trade route from Vilnius to Polotsk (the Great trade route or Algerdov way) became the reasons for one of the most significant events for any settlement at that time: in 1788, King Stanislaw August Poniatowski signed a chartered right for the Podbipents to allow weekly fairs to be held in Plissa. Now trade and crafts blossomed here like never before.
During the riot of 1831, the Podbipents joined the banners of the rebels who fought against the Russian army forces. Because of this, many of those who were on their side, including the noblemen themselves, were repressed, sent into exiles or imprisoned. Romuald Antonovich Podbipent, who was the foreman of the insurgent committee, was imprisoned under the travel ban in his own estate where he spent his last years of life. Later on, Plissa passed into the hands of the famous Belarusian noble family of Despot-Zenovich. At that time (in 1887) an Orthodox church was built here. According to local rumors, it was founded on the site previously occupied by a former Uniate church. Saint Paraskeve the New is considered to be the intercessor and patroness of women here. At the end of the 19th century there were 75 houses and 650 inhabitants in Plissa. There was a master's court, a small distillery, 6 shops, 2 taverns, a mill, a Catholic chapel and a synagogue. The settlement’s last owner was Pan Pavlovsky.
Like so many other Belarusian villages, Plissa went through many misfortunes in the twentieth century. During World War II, Plissian Jews did not abandon their homes, and on June 1, 1942, a horrendous tragedy took place - German fascists executed Plissian Jews not far from the village where an old Jewish cemetery is now located. In the 1960’s, the local Orthodox church was closed by the Soviet authorities, which led to a decline in religious life in the area. The Bolsheviks turned the building into a club with a dance floor. However, after numerous insistences of the local residents, the church building was returned to the eparchy, but required a large-scale reconstruction.
The history of Plissa is rich in milestone events, full of incredible ups and overwhelming downs. And the locals even have their own unique folklore: their own sayings and proverbs, tales, legends and songs. It is here, with the help of local natural resources, such as therapeutic mud and mineral springs, as well as centuries-old natural monuments and the history of Belarus, we have founded our “Plissa” sanatorium-and-spa resort, which, with the help of modern treatment technologies and excellent leisure facilities, will breathe a new life and bring new excitement into this wonderful land.

Предыстория

Деревня Плиса находится на территории бывшего Великого Княжества Литовского, а сегодня – Республики Беларусь, в Витебской области, в Глубокском районе. Это название в Беларуси носят также и другие деревни, озера и реки. Местные краеведы говорят, что топоним «Плисса» произошел от термина «плёс», который означает тихое, заросшее место на водоеме со спокойным течением. Древнее местечко Плисса появилось на берегу одноименного озера, которое имеет 6 км в длину и 1,5 – в ширину. С этого озера берет начало река Мнюта, которая впадает в Дисну. А здешние места поражают своей непередаваемой красотой и зимой, и летом. Недалеко от озера находится замковая гора, о которой существует легенда: В замке некогда жил князь с двумя дочками – Мнютой и Лютицей. А неподалеку от замка проживал рыбак, который был влюблен в Мнюту. Князь узнал об этом и был настроен против их любви. И через некоторое время рыбак пропал. А за ним пропала и Мнюта. Лютица отправилась на поиски сестры и тоже исчезла. С тех пор и говорят, что речка, вытекающая из озера Плисса – Мнюта и речка, впадающая в озеро – Лютица – это две сестры, которые так и не смогли встретиться, ведь одна сестра входит в озеро, а другая – выходит из него. Места здесь давние и важные. Деревня стоит на пути из Вильнюса в Полоцк, который также называется Большим Гостинцем или Альгердовым путем. Когда-то по всей длине этого пути располагались каменные кресты, один из которых и по сей день стоит в центре деревни. Наши предки устанавливали такие сооружения в местах пересечения торговых путей, возле крупных городов и в местах знаковых исторических событий. Считалось, что они оберегают окрестности от плохих людей, от эпидемий и болезней. Раньше этот крест стоял непосредственно на Альгердовом пути, на горе, но в советское время он был сброшен оттуда, после чего местные люди перенесли его в черту деревни.

Люди обживают хорошие места, как пчелы садятся на цветы. Вот и в этой местности, вокруг озера Плисса и около речки Мнюта издревле обосновались полоцкие кривичи. Белорусские археологи в ходе раскопок обнаружили здесь множество древних курганов и, исходя из этого, предположили, что люди расположились здесь почти 3000 лет назад.
С начала XVI века деревня стала собственностью Константина Острожского, который продал ее шляхтичу Николаю Петуху, что зафиксировано грамотой, подписанной Жигимонтом I 7 июля 1507 года. Эта дата и считается днем основания поселения. Королевская грамота давала вечное право на пользование и Плиссой, и окрестностями Николаю Петуху и его потомкам. В 1552 году в Плиссе насчитывалось 63 дома, что по меркам тех времен было немало. В 1579 году королевский картограф Пахоловицкий получил от короля приказ составить карту Полоцкого воеводства. Он прибыл и в Плиссу, отметив ее на карте крупным поселением.
В 1602 году Плисса стала собственностью Иосифа Ивановича Корсака, который был очень набожным правителем. Это положило начало расцвету христианской религии в этих землях. А местный фольклор пополнился очередной забавной легендой, согласно которой местные монахи, выловив в озере бобра, никак не могли решить, можно ли в пост употреблять его в пищу — ведь он является одновременно и водным, и земным обитателем.
В XVIII веке Плисса перешла во владение шляхтичей Подбипентов. Бурное развитие земель и расположение деревни на крупном торговом пути из Вильнюса в Полоцк (Большой Гостинец или Альгердов путь) стали причинами одного из самых знаменательных событий для любого поселения тех времен: в 1788 году король Станислав Август Понятовский подписывает Подбипентам привилей, который провозглашает еженедельное проведение ярмарок в Плиссе. Теперь торговля и ремесло расцвели здесь как никогда раньше.
В восстании 1831 года Подбипенты встали под флаги повстанцев, которые сражались с российскими силами. Из-за этого многие из тех, кто находился на их стороне, в том числе и сами шляхтичи, были репрессированы, отправлены в ссылки и тюрьмы. Ромуальд Антонович Подбипент, который являлся старшиной повстанческого комитета, был заключен в собственном имении под запретом выезда, где он и провел свои последние годы жизни. Далее Плисса перешла в руки известного белорусского шляхетского рода Деспот-Зеновичей. В это время (в 1887 году) здесь была сооружена православная церковь. Согласно местным слухам, построена она была на месте бывшей униатской церкви. Здесь покровительницей и заступницей женщин считается Параскева Пятница. В конце XIX века в Плиссе было 75 домов и проживало 650 жителей. Здесь был хозяйский двор, небольшой завод по производству спиртного, 6 лавок, 2 корчмы, мельница, католическая часовня и синагога. Последним хозяином поселения был пан Павловский.
XX век принес Плиссе, как и многим другим белорусским деревням, много несчастий. Во время Второй мировой войны Плисские евреи не оставили своих жилищ, и 1 июня 1942 года произошла ужасная трагедия — расстрел немецкими фашистами Плисских евреев неподалеку от деревни, где теперь находится старое еврейское кладбище. В 60-х годах XX века местный православный храм был закрыт советской властью, что привело к спаду религиозной жизни. Большевики сделали из здания клуб со сценой для танцев. Однако по многочисленным настояниям местных жителей здание храма вновь вернули церкви, где пришлось производить масштабную реконструкцию.
История Плиссы богата на знаковые события, полна невероятных взлетов и сокрушительных падений. А у здешних людей даже есть свой неповторимый фольклор: собственные поговорки и пословицы, придания, легенды и песни. Именно здесь, прибегая к помощи местных природных богатств, таких как лечебные грязи и минеральные источники, а также вековых памятников природы и истории Беларуси, мы и воздвигли наш курортно-санаторный комплекс «Плисса», который с помощью современных технологий лечения и прекрасных возможностей для отдыха вдохнет новый приток интереса и жизни в эти чудесные края.